Making nails- Need Help To Get Started

GreenDrake

You are about to reply to a thread that has been inactive for 4155 days.

Please take a moment to consider if this thread is worth bumping.

Hey there, I'm a student on course to virtual worlds and I need to make an project in SL, now me and my partner thought about making an machine that will generate 3-4 different colors of nails to the avatar.

Now, here comes the problem : I know there are two ways to make nails:

1. Sculpted nails

2. Gloves or tattoo layer

I managed to create one finger on sculpted but I didn't knew what to do with it and how to attach it to someone/upload it to SL, so I tried to look for tutorial on how to make gloves that I can make them transparent except the nails.

So I hope you will get what I meant, English is now my mother language.

thnx in advance! 

You might want to ask a moderator to move this to the Building and Texturing Forum, where it's maybe more likely to be seen by content creators (click the "report inappropriate content" button and ask for it to be moved).

As to your project, the only way you're going to be able to have a Second Life "machine" generate colours of nails is if you're using sculpted nails.   You can change the colour of objects (like sculpted prim nails) by script, you see, but scripts can't affect clothing layers  (like gloves)  that way.

In order to upload texures -- whether you mean the sculpt map for the nails or the texture for the gloves -- to SL, open your inventory, click the + button and choose "Upload".  It costs L$ 10 for each texture.

For a good, though rather dated, introduction to building and making clothes, I strongly recommend Natalia Zelmanov's tutorials.

Now, the bad news.  I am sorry to say this, but I think yo uand your friend may want to reconsider the project, for various reasons.