Texture Help

0athenais0

You are about to reply to a thread that has been inactive for 3435 days.

Please take a moment to consider if this thread is worth bumping.

Hello,

I am new to building and texturing. I am using the latest version of Blender. When I apply textures in Blender, they never upload with my mesh into SL even if I include textures. I read that most people don't even upload textures with their mesh into SL, but apply the texture inworld.

If that's so, how do they make the texture look its best on the object? When I uploaded a vase I made and applied a texture, it looked distorted. It WAS a patterened texture, but I guess I'm confused because if so many people wait and apply their textures inworld, how do they keep the texture looking uniform and normal? I see so many perfectly textured items on the mp and I can't figure out how people are doing this.

I've looked at countless tutorials on texturing, both in Blender and within SL, but I'm just not able to understand how this works. Could anyone lend some advice?

Thanks

Hi :)

Nowhere in your post have you mentioned UV's or UVnwrapping.

UV unwrapping is about mapping the vertices of your mesh onto a 2D space (usually a square).

If for example you were making a teddy bear in RL you would start with a patern with the body, head, arms and legs parts layed out on a 2D space, a piece of paper (then you use the pattern to cut out pieces of cloth which will be sewn together to make the teddy). Where the legs join the torso you have a seam. Seams are also used in the mesh UV unwrapping process.

The patern is like the UV map of the Teddy. The diference is in 3d modelling this pattern, called a UV map is made after you have fiinished creating your mesh model. This UV maps coordinates are part of the Collada.dae  file of the mesh that is uploaded to SL.