Performance impact questions

You are about to reply to a thread that has been inactive for 3384 days.

Please take a moment to consider if this thread is worth bumping.

Hello all of you!

I'm a long term builder in SL but I've always been hanging in the dark a bit when it came to what affects performance. Because of the way Avatars can have such a huge impact on performance (by wearing badly made and/or prim/PE/script heavy elements) it's often hard to link viewer lag to any specific element.

I've just created a new hangout on a new sim - size 16000sqm. Personally I have a very powerful viewer and can turn on all the bells and whistles and still keep a good framerate but for some of the visitors the hangout is unbearably laggy whenever just a few avatars are present.

I've tried experimenting but the results aren't really clear so I decided to come to this forum to see if any of you could help me out.

My questions are basically this:

- what are the main causes of viewer lag (besides the obvious elements such as particle count and view distance and other viewer settings)? I suspect alpha textures contribute a great deal

- In games, they design areas in such a way that you can only ever see a certain amount of polygons at once to avoid performance hits. How would you do this in SL? Is placing a large prim going to stop the viewer from rendering the items behind it? Does it work with sculpties as well? Or do you have to use actual raised land for this to work? From my experience, SL seems to not give a **bleep** what you actually see but still renders it or part of it at least - or is there a trick for this?

I hope someone can give a clear answer because I couldn't find any topic on this (strangely enough) despite it being quite a big issue for building - especially with all the high-detail and low-prim mesh abound (which seriously made lag worse).