You are currently in the Forum Archive. All content within this area is Read-Only and cannot be modified. Active Forums can be found here.
Recognized Resident
DMoneyTM

Can't install due to graphic card error?

I am trying to download SL, but I keep getting the error that it "couldnt run becuase your video card drivers did not install properly...etc."  I know many people have gotten this error but I'm wondering if there is a fix?  I am on windows 7 with a Radeon X300/X550/X1050 driver.  Any help would be greatly appreciated.

New Resident
Rich Madeye

Re: Can't install due to graphic card error?

Reply to DMoneyTM - view message

I had the same problem. I had to totally uninstall my video driver, use a driver sweeper then reinstall the drivers.

Recognized Resident
DMoneyTM

So i would go into my device driver, right click on them and uninstall?  That wouldnt turn my screen totally off?  Also can u recommend a good drive sweeper?  Sorry but I'm new to all this.

Honored Resident
Fal Avedon

To answer your first question, yes, that would uninstall the display drivers for your video card. However, that would not get rid of any leftover files and such. That's what a driver sweeper is for.

To answer your second question, no, it won't shut your screen off. It may go black momentarily, but it will come back on. Windows comes with a generic display driver, and if you uninstalled your video card's specific drivers, your machine will revert back to using the generic ones packaged with Windows. So you will still have screen functionality, but the generic drivers most likely won't be able to utilize the full capabilities of your video card (ie, any games you may play will have a noticable performance drop).

I hear that Guru3d makes a fairly good driver sweeper. You can download it here. I have not used their driver sweeper, so I do not know how capable it is.