Trick of the Light

You are about to reply to a thread that has been inactive for 3570 days.

Please take a moment to consider if this thread is worth bumping.

I am a newbie when it comes to SL photography. Or RL photography for that matter. XD

So, please be patient when I ask something that may be way over my head. Ok, here goes:

I want to know how to adjust lighting and shadows for SL photography to get a short of "airy" feel. I don't know how to describe it, it's a lighting technique I see all the time in good SL photography and it makes the photo realistic, pop out and not look just completely flat (like my pics XD).

Here is an example I just found: http://yeriak.files.wordpress.com/2014/05/glam-dreams_002.png

See the lighting? How it casts the shadows on the sofa, etc?

I have no idea how they do that or if it's made inside SL or if it's a photoshop thing. Could someone give me a starting point? I'm honestly very curious how they manipulate light for SL photography.

Spinell wrote: [...] 
to get a short of "airy" feel [...] it makes the photo realistic, pop out and not look just completely flat [...] 
See the lighting? How it casts the shadows on the sofa, etc? [...]

To be honest I'm not sure what you mean, you seem to be describing different things or effects. If what you want is the scene's objects and objects to cast actual shadows, that's achieved by activating ALM (“Advanced Lighting Model”) in the graphics section of the viewer's preferences, and make sure below that all points of light, or at least sun & moon, are also active (otherwise you'd be using the lighting model, but telling the viewer to ignore any actual light sources, so you'd get no shadows); and the shadows will be rendered a bit more realistically if you also activate “Ambient Occlusion”, a different setting.