New upload formats: MOD (module format), GIF, ANIMATED PNG

You are about to reply to a thread that has been inactive for 3575 days.

Please take a moment to consider if this thread is worth bumping.

take a look here and vote if you want:

https://jira.secondlife.com/browse/BUG-6436

Instead of using music 44.1 Khz-16 bit-and no longer than 10 seconds,

Why not use a MOD (module format):
http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/MOD_%28file_format%29

there are many free editors to make music in MOD format, for example:
https://code.google.com/p/klystrack/

A music artist should not worry about the upload chunking, and should not worry about "putting together all the chunks and make it work with a script".

And many Artists that works with Mod format, could join SL to sell their work instead of using other market places

The same thing about animated textures, as a painter i would not worry about the lsl code to make work an animated gif on a prim, i just want to upload a GIF (or at least an animated PNG),

• Like 1

Wouldn't MOD (and derivative formats) playback cause a somewhat significant processing overhead? We're not talking playing a single, 10 sec. monaural PCM sound anymore, but multiple simultaneous samples in a potentially high number of tracks, each with advanced, real-time sequencing parameters (volume, pan, pitch), plus effects...

Jenni Darkwatch wrote: [...]
 though I can't see why LL would add this unless there was a way to script this in-world. Otherwise I fail to see how it adds value.

Indeed. I suspect more straightforward and far more popular formats (either WAV, MP3 or OGG) with longer durations and perhaps in stereo, will be a much wider request than specialized, sequenced music formats.

I never uunderstood why people need to play full songs when its obviously intended for short clips and action sounds..they have a media stream for a reason lol

On another note. Downloading a crap ton of full length stuff would make SL feel more bogged down ;(