Trying to animate on 3D Max

Alanna Preez

You are about to reply to a thread that has been inactive for 4056 days.

Please take a moment to consider if this thread is worth bumping.

Hi everybody, I have been struggling with this for days now.. I dont even know if Im doing things right. I know Max is the worst possibility to make SL animations but its the tool I work in RL so Im more confortable using it than any other. I dont have any animating experiance, my work consists basically on modeling, mapping and texturing so Im relatively new to bones, etc..

Here is what I have been trying to do:

1) Im using SLAV to generate the rigged base model with all 26 bones.

2) I renamed the 19 bones SL uses according to this link here. (http://community.secondlife.com/t5/Mesh/Joint-names/td-p/810861)

3) Kept the T pose at frame 0 and at frame 2 I made a static pose just to test it.

4) Run Abu_SL_BVH_Exporter_beta8, unfortunately thats the only script I found that does something. But it gives me a error when it starts to rotate each bone. In order to make it run I had to remove all this rotation and adjustment process.

5) The generated BHV opens on BVhacker, it gives me an "ok" if I test the joints but the animation itself shows as 120f frames. If i try to run it the program crashes.. in SL it gives me errors, like "Premature end of file"

Another workflow I tryed was trying:

1) Im using SLAV to generate the rigged base model with all 26 bones.

2) I renamed the 19 bones SL uses according to this link here. (http://community.secondlife.com/t5/Mesh/Joint-names/td-p/810861)

3) Kept the T pose at frame 0 and at frame 2 I made a static pose just to test it.

4) Export it as FBX and open on MotionBuilder

5) Export as BVH.